Home
Calendar
Committees
News
Documents
Links
 
 

David R. Hager
Acting Provost and 
Vice President for Academic Affairs
Director of the Self-Study

John P. Broderick
Acting Associate Vice President
for Academic Affairs
Chair, Self-Study Steering Committee
 

Please click on the following links to find the information listed:
A list of members of the Steering Committee

Minutes of the Steering Committee Meeting of January 18, 2000

Letter from John P. Broderick to the Steering Committee Concerning Review of The University Community Review Draft of the Self-Study Report (8/22/01)

A list of the 16 Principal Self-Study Committees and their membership

Letter from John P. Broderick to Principal Committee Chairs Concerning Review of The University Community Review Draft of the Self-Study Report (8/22/01)

A listing of Which Numbered Sub-Sections in the SACS/COC Criteria of Accreditation Are Assigned to Each of the 16 Principal Committees

Steering Committee
Return to top.

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY
SACS/COC REAFFIRMATION OF ACCREDITATION, 2002
SELF-STUDY PROCESS: STEERING COMMITTEE LIST

John P. Broderick;
Acting Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
jpbroder@odu.edu; 3259
Steering Committee Chair

Roseann Runte; President
rrunte@odu.edu; 3159

David R. Hager; Acting Provost
Dr. David Hager; 3079
Self-Study Director

Robert Fenning; VP for Administration and Finance
mailto:rfenning@odu.edu;; 3464

John R. Broderick, VP for Institutional Advancement
jbroderi@odu.edu; 3152

Dana Burnett; VP for Student Services
dburnett@odu.edu; 3442

Mary El-Kadi; English
celkadi@odu.edu; 4019
Self-Study Editor

Janet Katz; Interim Dean, College of Arts and Letters
jkatz@odu.edu@odu.edu; 3924

Jim Jarrett; Director of Athletics
jjarrett@odu.edu; 3369

Mikki Baile; Senior Associate Director of Athletics
mabile@odu.edu; 3358

Marty Sharpe; Director of University Planning & Institutional Research
msharpe@odu.edu; 4046

Renee Dunman; Director of Equal Opportunity/Affirmative Action
rdunman@du.edu; 3141

Ali Ardalan; Associate Dean, College of Business
aardalan@odu.edu; 3520

John Ritz; Occupational and Technical Studies
jritz@odu.edu; 4305

Richard Whittecar; Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
rwhittec@odu.edu; 5197

Shirley Glover; Associate Dean; College of Health Sciences
sglover@odu.edu; 4256

Mable Smith; Nursing
msmith@odu.edu; 5094

Thomas Socha; Communication and Theatre Arts
tsocha@odu.edu; 3833

Janis Sanchez-Hucles; Psychology
jsanchez@odu.edu; 4209

Mary Haddad
[Board of Visitors Representative]

Paul Champagne; Department of Business Administration
pchampag@odu.edu; 5849

Louis Ludwick; [Student Representative]
1439 Buckingham Ave., Norfolk, VA 23508;  423-2942
http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail

Bobby Powell; College of Sciences Shop
bpowell@odu.edu; 4511

Steve Winter [Alumni Representative]
5244 Shenstone Circle; Virginia Beach, VA 23455
 

The following listing of members of the Self-Study Steering Committee indicates whether committee members also serve on one of the principal Self-Study Committees (see column at the right) and whether this membership includes the role of liason to the Self-Study Steering Committee (indicated by an asterisk: * ).

 
Name
Title or Position 
Committee Membership (& Liaison: * )
John P. Broderick Steering Committee Chair Instructional Support and Information Technology Resources and Systems
Rosann Runte President
David Hager Acting Provost Principles and Philosophy of Accreditation Committee
Robert Fenning Vice President for Administration & Finance Financial Resources Committee
John R. Broderick Vice President for Institutional Advancement Institutional Advancement Committee
Dana Burnett Vice President for Student Services Student Development Services Committee
Mary El-Kadi Self-Study Editor Library Committee
Janet Katz Interim Dean, College of Arts and Letters Consortial Relationships and Contracts
Jim Jarrett Director of Athletics Intercollegiate Athletics Committee*
Mikki Baile Senior Associate Director of Athletics Intercollegiate Athletics Committee*
Marty Sharpe Director of University Planning and Institutional Research Instructional Support and Information Technology Resources and Systems Committee
Renee Dunman Director of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action Organization, Administration, and Related Corporate Entities Committee
Ali Ardalan Chair, Institutional Effectiveness Committee Institutional Effectiveness Committee
John Ritz Chair, Undergraduate Program Committee Undergraduate Program Committee
Richard Whittecar Chair, Distance Learning Program Committee Distance Learning Program Committee
Shirley Glover Chair, Continuing Education, Outreach and Service Programs Committee Continuing Education, Outreach, and Service Programs Committee
Mable Smith Chair, Faculty Committee Faculty Committee
Thomas Socha Chair, Institutional Advancement Committee Institutional Advancement Committee
Janis Sanchez-Hucles Chair, Intercollegiate Athletics Committee Intercollegiate Athletics Committee
Mary Haddad Board of Visitors Representative
Paul Champagne Faculty Senate Representative Faculty Committee*
Louis Ludwick Student Representative Undergraduate Program Committee* 
Bobby Powell Classified Employee Representative Physical Resources Committee*
Steve Winter Alumni Association Representative Organization, Administration, and Related Corporate Entities Committee*
Return to top.

Principal Self-Study Committees
Return to top.

OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY
SAC/COC REAFFIRMATION OF ACCREDITATION, 2002
SELF STUDY PROCESS: PRINCIPAL COMMITTEES LIST

1. Principles and Philosophy of Accreditation:

Chair: Donald Zeigler - Political Science and Geography; dzeigler@odu.edu; 3841
David R. Hager, Academic Affairs; Dr.David Hager 3259
Chandra de Silva; History; cdesilva@odu.edu; 3949
Bruce McAffee, Business Administration; rmcaffee@odu.edu; 3539
Alice Wakefield; Early Childhood, Speech Pathology & Spec Ed; mailto:sraverla@odu.edu; 3343
Gary Shafran; Civil & Environmental Eng; gshafran@odu.edu; 3753
John Echternach; Community Health Professions/Physical Therapy; jechtern@odu.edu; 4518
Lytton Musselman; Biological Sciences; lmusselm@odu.edu; 3610
Rebecca Warren; Medical Laboratory Sciences; mailto:rgranger@odu.edu; 4730

2. Institutional Effectiveness:

Chair: Ali Ardalan - College of Business and Public Administration, aardalan@odu.edu;3520
Marty Sharpe; University Planning/Institutional Research; mailto:msharpe@odu.edu;4046
Michael Hucles; History; mhucles@odu.edu; 5586
Denny Wolfe; Educational Curriculum and Instruction; dwolfe@odu.edu; 3230
Oktay Baysal; Aerospace Engineering; obaysal@odu.edu; 3720
Elaine Justice; Psychology; ejustice@odu.edu; 3137
Steve Zerwas; Academic Skills; szerwas@odu.edu; 4781
Mary Clayton, Physical Plant, 3-4867
Bob Hardison, Alumni, 1777 Valhalla Arch, Virginia Beach, VA 23454-2531; 496-0858; hardison_rr@nns.com

3. Undergraduate Program:

Chair: John Ritz - Occupational and Technical Studies; jritz@odu.edu; 4305
Robert Wojtowicz; Art; rwojtowi@odu.edu; 4052
Sylvia Hudgins; Business Administration; shudgins@odu.edu; 3551
Gary Crossman; Engineering Technology; gcrossman@odu.edu; 3768
Deanne Shuman; Dental Hygiene; dshuman@odu.edu; 3338
Kneeland Nesius; Biological Sciences; knesius@odu.edu; 4193
Glenn Bunton; Library; gbunton@odu.edu; 5952
Aleene Rose; Writing Center; arose@odu.edu; 4114
Michael O'Connor; Admissions; moconnor@odu.edu; 3648
Jeanie Kline, Distance Learning/Extended Education, http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 3163
John Heyl, Office of International Programs; mail:%20jheyl@odu.edu: 5195
D. Michael Arendall; Student Body President; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 3437
Louis Ludwig; 1439 Buckingham Ave., Norfolk, VA 23508;  423-2942; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail
Anthony Whitehead; Alumni; 2037 Dock Landing Rd; Chesapeake, VA 23321-3511; 465-5824
Kimberly Brown; Admissions; kbrown@odu.edu; 3657

4. Graduate Program and Externally Funded Grants and Contracts:

Chair: Robert Ash; Aerospace Engineering; rash@odu.edu; 3720
Michael Dingerson; Research and Graduate Studies; mdingers@odu.edu; 3460
Carole Seyfrit; Assistant Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies; cseyfrit@odu.edu; 3803
Robert Gable; Child Study, Speech Pathology & Special Ed; mailto:rgable@odu.edu;3157
Ravindra Joshi; Electrical & Computer Eng; rjoshi@odu.edu; 4827
George Maihafer; Community Health Professions/Physical Therapy; gmaihafe@odu.edu; 4519
Daniel Sonenshine; Biological Sciences; mailto:dsonehsh@odu.edu; 3612
Patricia Pleban; Chemistry; ppleban@odu.edu; 4085
Ann Pettingill; Library; apetting@odu.edu; 4183
Jerry Jones; ODURF; mailto:bob@pobox.hprf.odu.edu; or jbjones@odu.edu 4293-600
Ron Tolento; Honor Council; 4350; rontalento@yahoo.com
Sandra Olanitori; Alumni; 901 Harbour North Drive, Chesapeake, VA 23320

5. Distance Learning Program:

Chair: Richard Whittecar; Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences; mailto:rwhitec@odu.edu;5197
Edith Barnett; Distance Learning & Extended Education; ebarnett@odu.edu; 3163
Garland White; Sociology; gwhite@odu.edu; 3818
John Keeling; Business Administration; jkeeling@odu.edu; 3406
William Stanley; Engineering Technology; wstanley@odu.edu; 3775
Chris Lovell, Educational Leadership & Counseling; clovell@odu.edu; 3221
Linda Lilley; Nursing; llilley@odu.edu; 5264
Cynthia Swaine; Library; cswaine@odu.edu; 4185
Susan Boze; TELETECHNET; mail:%20sboze@odu.edu; 3172
Ann Reid Tatman; Office of Finance; atatman@odu.edu; 4750
Alice McAdory; Peninsula Graduate Center; amcadory@odu.edu; 766-5200
Maryann St Clair; Alumni; mastclair@carilion.com; 320 Stoneacres Dr, Vinton, VA 24179; 540-981-7117

6. Continuing Education, Outreach, and Service Programs:

Chair: Shirley Glover; College of Health Sciences; sglover@odu.edu; 4256
William McMahon; Academic Affairs; bmcmahon@odu.edu; 5319
Michael Stodksill; Academic Affairs; mstocks@odu.edu; 3777
Paul Heine; College of Education; pheine@odu.edu; 3777
Helen Madden; Technology Applications Center; hmadden@odu.edu; 5505
Cecelia Tucker; Office of the President; ctucker@odu.edu; 3159
Robert Bray; International Programs; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 5505
Michele Zimmerman, Nursing; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 4297
Lisa Mitchell, Director of Marketing, Programs for Continued Learning, College of Education; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 4686
Bessie Pender; Alumni; 932 Albert Ave; Norfolk, VA 23513

7. Faculty Committee:

Chair: Mable Smith-Pittman; Nursing; msmith@odu.edu; 5094
Ken Daley; Art; kdaley@odu.edu; 4056
Paul Champagne; Business Administration; pchamnag@odu.edu; 5849
Nicholas Bountress; Child Study, Speech Pathology, & Special Ed; nbountre@odu.edu; 4117
Desmond Cook; Physics; dccook@odu.edu; 4695
Isao Ishibasi, Civil & Environmental Engineering; iishibas@odu.edu; 4641

8. Consortial Relationships and Contracts:

Chair: Surendra Tiwari; Mechanical Engineering; suren@mem.odu.edu; 3730
John Toomey; Music; jtoomey@odu.edu; 4077
Chris Colburn; Economics; ccolburn@odu.edu; 3567
David Branch; Exercise Science, Physical Education, and Recreation; mail:%20dbranch@odu.edu; 4995
Roland Mielke; Electrical & Computer Engineering; rmielke@odu.edu; 4570
Elizabeth Giles; Community Health Profession/PT; egiles@odu.edu; 6112
Wallace Van Orden; Physics; jvanorde@odu.edu; 5801
Karen Gould; Dean, College of Arts and Letters; mailto:devans@odu.edu; 3924

9. Library:

Chair: Douglas Ziegenfuss; Accounting; dziegenf@odu.edu; 3514
Mary El-Kadi; English; celkadi@odu.edu; 4020
Fran Hassencahl; Communication and Theater Arts fhassenc@odu.edu; 3828
Abha Gupta; Educational Curriculum & Instruction; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 6074
Paul Kauffman; Engineering Management; pkauffma@odu.edu; 4946
John Adam; Mathematics & Statistics; jadam@odu.edu; 3694
Jean Major; Library; jmajor@odu.edu; 4141
Virginia O'Herron; Library; voherron@odu.edu; 4186
Joann Bishop; Nursing; jbishop@odu.edu; 5093
Madgie McRea; Student Services; mmcra001@odu.edu; 4707B Killam; Apt B1; Norfolk, VA 23508; 423-2526
Patricia Peery; 4600 Ocean Front Ave; Virginia Beach, VA 23451; msgreenway@aol.com; 491-7580
Janice McPhearson Doxy, Alumni; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 1117 Abingdon Rd; Virginia Beach, VA 23451; 437-4449; fax: 437-7772

10. Instructional Support and Information Technology Resources and Systems:

Chair: Richard Overbaugh; Educational Curriculum & Instruction; mailto:roverbau@odu.edu;3283
John P. Broderick; Academic Affairs; jpbroder@odu.edu; 3259
Joyce Neff; English; jneff@odu.edu; 4012
William Crouch; Information Systems/Decision Sciences; mailto:wcrouch@odu.edu;6188
David Netherton; Occupational & Technical Studies; dnethert@odu.edu; 5323
Sank Williams; Engineering Technology; fwilliam@odu.edu; 4606
Scott Sechrist; Medical Laboratory Sciences; ssechris@odu.edu; 3589
Przemyslaw Bogacki, Mathematics & Statistics; pbogacki@odu.edu; 3236
Karen Vaughan; Library; kvaughan@odu.edu; 4184
Patrick Pow; Academic Technology Services; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 3181
Martha Martin, Assistant Director/Exit Exam Coordinator; Writing Center; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 4112
Rusty Waterfield; OCCS; rwater@odu.edu; 4631
Mickey O'Connor; Alumni; 1013 Wormely Creek Dr; Yorktown, VA 23692-4243; 890-9498
Connie Merriman; OCCS; cmerrima@odu.edu; 3189

11. Student Development Services:
(Minutes of meetings of this committee may be viewed by clicking here.)

Chair: Deborah Bauman; Dental Hygiene; dbauman@odu.edu; 5235
Dana Burnett; Student Services; dburnett@odu.edu; 3442
Renee Olander; College of Arts and Letters; rolander@odu.edu; 4939
Tim McKee; Accounting; tmckee@odu.edu; 3577
Petra Snowden; Educational Leadership & Counseling; psnowden@odu.edu; 3326
Derya Jacobs; College of Engineering; djacobs@odu.edu; 4938
Barbara Hargrave; Biology; bhargrav@odu.edu; 3600
Maggi Curry-Williams; Student Services; mcwillia@odu.edu; 3442
Veronica M. Finch; Associate Director, Student Financial Aid; mail:%20vfinch@odu.edu; 4509
Scott King; International Programs; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 4756
Donald Runyon; Auxiliary Services; drunyon@odu.edu; 3462
Mary Swartz; Registration & Records; mswartz@odu.edu; 3437
D. Michael Arendall; Student Body President; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail; 3437
Sharifa Charley; Student Senate; 3437
Scott Harrison; Student Services; sbharris@odu.edu; 3755

12. Intercollegiate Athletics:

Chair: Janis Sanchez-Hucles; Psychology; jsanchez@odu.edu; 4209
Lucien Lombardo; Sociology/Criminal Justice; llomard@odu.edu; 3800
Edward Markowski; MIS/DS; emarkows@odu.edu; 3533
Betsy Kennedy; ESPER; bkennedy@odu.edu; 4703
Patrick Tow; ESPER; ptow@odu.edu; 4351
Moustafa Moustafa; Engineering Technology; mmoustaf@odu.edu; 3767
Thomas Somma, Medical Laboratory Sciences; mail:%20tsomma@odu.edu: 3589
Mikki Baile; Athletics; mbaile@odu.edu; 3358
Carol Locke; Student Services; clocke@odu.edu; 3431
Daniel Ridenhour; 1618 West 49th St; Norfolk, VA 23508
Billy Hasty; Alumni; 3925 Flagship Way; Portsmouth, VA 23703-5317; 484-2173
Tina Price; Athletics; tprice@odu.edu; 3372
John P. Broderick; Acting Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs; jpbroder@odu.edu; 3259

13. Organization, Administration, and Related Corporate Entities:

Chair: Earl Honeycutt; Business Administration; ehoneycu@odu.edu; 3557
ReNee Dunman; EEO/AA; rdunman@odu.edu; 3141
John Kuehl; History; jkuehl@odu.edu; 3946
Ray Morgan; Educational Curriculum & Instruction; rmorgan@odu.edu; 4181
Clare Houseman; College of Health Sciences; chousema@odu.edu; 4259
William Drewry; Civil & Environmental Engineering; wdrewry@odu.edu; 3760
Stewart Shen; Computer Science; sshen@odu.edu; 4680
Donna Meeks; Administration & Finance; dmeeks@odu.edu; 3072
Judith R. Smith; Administration & Finance; jsmith@odu.edu; 3269

14. Institutional Advancement:

Chair: Thomas Socha; Communication and Theatre Arts; tsocha@odu.edu; 3833
John R. Broderick; Institutional Advancement; jbroderi@odu.edu; 3152
John B. Ford; Business Administration; jbford@odu.edu; 3587
Katharine Kersey; Child Study, Speech Pathology & Special Ed; kkersey@odu.edu; 4121
Sushil Chaturvedi; Mechanical Engineering; skc@mem.odu.edu; 3731
Gail McCombs; Dental Hygiene; gmcombs@odu.edu; 5150
Ram Dahiya; Mathematics & Statistics; rdahiya@odu.edu; 3904
Steve Daniel; Institutional Advancement; sdaniel@odu.edu; 3093
Kevin Swann; Counseling & Advising Services; mail:%20kswann@odu.edu; 3699
Alonzo Brandon; Institutional Advancement; abrandon@odu.edu; 5789
Carla James; Student Services
Raymond T. Jones; Alumni; (WHRO) 5200 Hampton Blvd; Norfolk, VA 23508; 889-9474; rjones@whro.org
Linda Freeman; Monarch Copy Center; lfreema@odu.edu; 4400

15. Financial Resources:

Chair: Deb Swiecinski; Administration & Finance; dswiecin@odu.edu; 3127
Dennis Zeisler; Music; dzeisler@odu.edu; 4061
Bruce Rubin; College of Business & Public Admin; brubin@odu.edu; 3585
Murray Rudisill; Educational Curriculum & Instruction; erudisil@odu.edu; 3300
Berndt Bohm; College of Engineering; bbohm@odu.edu; 4245
Faye Coleman; Medical Laboratory Sciences; fcoleman@odu.edu; 3589
Thomas Cash; Psychology; tcash@odu.edu; 4439
Pam Morgan; Library; pmorgan@odu.edu; 4148
Laurel Garzon; Nursing; lgarzon@odu.edu; 5249
Linda Mihilasky; Academic Affairs; lmihilas@odu.edu; 5057

16. Physical Resources:

Chair: William Dunstan; Ocean, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences; mailto:wdunstan@odu.edu;4933
Bobby Powell; Sciences Shop; bpowell@odu.edu; 4511
Janet Katz; College of Arts and Letters; mailto:jkatz@odu.edu;l4338
Carol Markowski; Information Systems/DS; cmarkows@odu.edu; 4668
Steve Tonelson; Child Study, Speech Pathology & Special Ed; http://web.odu.edu/al/sacs/mail;6295
David Basco; Civil Engineering; dbasco@odu.edu; 3753
Faye Sims; Nursing; fsims@odu.edu; 5247
Robert Fenning; Administration & Finance; rfenning@odu.edu; 4156
Morel Fry; Library; mfry@odu.edu; 4143
Katy Day; Student Services
Frances McCraw; Library; fmccraw@odu.edu; 4141

[as of 08/30/01]

Return to top.

A listing of Which Numbered Sub-Sections in the
SACS/COC Criteria of Accreditation
Are Assigned to Each of the 16 Principal Committees

1 Principles and Philosophy of Accreditation: 1.1, 1.2, 1.4, 1.6, and Section II

2 Institutional Effectiveness: 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3

3 Undergraduate Program: 4.2 (4.2.1, 4.2.2, 4.2.3, 4.2.4, and 4.2.5)

4 Graduate Program and Externally Funded Grants and Contracts: 4.3.1, 4.3.2, 4.3.3, 4.3.4, 4.3.5, 4.3.6 and 6.5

5 Distance Learning Program: 4.5, 4.8.2.4, 5.1.7 and Distance Education: Definition and Principles A Policy Statement and The Evaluation of Distance Learning Activities

6 Continuing Education, Outreach, and  Service Programs: 4.6

7 Faculty: 4.8 (4.8.1, 4.8.2.2, 4.8.2.3, 4.8.3, 4.8.4, 4.8.5, 4.8.6, 4.8.7, 4.8.8, 4.8.9, and 4.8.10)

8 Consortial Relationships and Contracts: 4.9 (4.9.1 and 4.9.2)

9 Library: 5.1 (5.1.1, 5.1.2, 5.1.3, 5.1.4. 5.1.5, and 5.1.6)

10 Instructional Support and Information Technology Resources and Systems: 5.2 and 5.3

11 Student Development Services: 4.7, 5.4 (5.4.1, 5.4.2, and 5.4.3)

12 Intercollegiate Athletics: 5.5 (5.5.1, 5.5.2, 5.5.3, and 5.1.4) and NCAA Division I Athletics Certification Operating Principles

13 Organization, Administration, and Related Corporate Entities: 6.1 (6.1.1, 6.1.2, 6.1.3, 6.1.4, and 6.1.5), and 6.6

14 Institutional Advancement: 4.4 and 6.2 (6.2.1 and 6.2.2)

15 Financial Resources: 6.3 (6.3.1, 6.3.2, 6.3.3, 6.3.4, 6.3.5, 6.3.6, 6.3.7, 6.3.8, 6.3.9, 6.3.10, 6.3.11, and 6.3.12)

16 Physical Resources: 6.4 (6.4.1, 6.4.2, 6.4.3, and 6.4.4)

 
Home
Calendar
Committees
News
Documents
Links

Office of Academic Affairs
Old Dominion University
Updated August 30, 2001 By: John P. Broderick
© 2001, All rights reserved.
Feedback:(sfinnert@odu.edu)