A Record Six Alumni Serve In House Of Delegates

Six Old Dominion alumni served in the Virginia General Assembly during the 2002-03 session –
a record number of former students for the university – including Delegate Thomas C. “Tommy” Wright Jr. ’70, of Victoria, Va., who was one of three alums completing their first terms in office.

A Republican from the 61st District, Wright represented the counties of Amelia, Brunswick
(part), Lunenburg (part), Mecklenburg and Nottoway (part). Also completing their first full
two-year terms in the House of Delegates were John Cosgrove ’85, of Chesapeake, and Winsome E. Sears ’92, of Norfolk. Kenneth Cooper Alexander ’90, also of Norfolk, was
elected last August to fill the unexpired term of Jerrauld C. Jones, who stepped down from his House of Delegates seat to become director of the state’s Department of Juvenile Justice.

Other ODU alumni serving in the General Assembly this past session were longtime delegates Kenneth R. Plum ’65, of Fairfax, and Harry R. “Bob” Purkey ’68, of Virginia Beach.