Calendar notices should be typewritten or printed and submitted to: Calendar Coordinator, room 100, New Administration Building; e-mail: sdaniel@odu.edu; fax: 683-5501.

The next Calendar will be dated July Aug. 28 to Sept. 13. The deadline for submission of events is noon Thursday, Aug. 20. (FMI is the number for more information; $ indicates an admission fee.)

WORKSHOPS

Tuesday, July 21
Bioventure Forum, sponsored by Center for Biotechnology, 5:30- 9 p.m., 101 MGB. FMI, 683-3617.

MEETINGS

Tuesday, July 20
Board of Visitors' Executive Committee, 3 p.m., Board Room, Webb Center. FMI, 683-3159.

Monday, August 17
Board of Visitors' Executive Committee, 3 p.m., Board Room, Webb Center. FMI, 683-3159.

PERFORMANCES

Tues., July 28 - Thurs., July 30
Multicultural Summer Arts Workshop presentation of "Wind of a Thousand Tales: Folk Tales from Faraway Places," 10 a.m. Tues.; 10 a.m. and 7 p.m. Wed.; 7 p.m. Thurs.; University Theater. FMI, 683-4423. $.

MISCELLANEOUS

Wednesday, July 15
Blood drive, sponsored by Hourly and Classified Employees Association and American Red Cross, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., north mall, Webb Center. To schedule an appointment, call Bobby Powell at 683-4511.

Wednesday, July 15, 29 & Aug. 5
Tour of University Library, 11 a.m. to noon; meet in first-floor lobby. FMI, 683-4186.

Friday, July 17
VMASC Open House, 3-7 p.m., VMASC, 7000 College Drive, (TCC-Portsmouth), Suffolk. FMI, 686-6200.

Wednesday, July 22 & Aug. 12
Tour of Diehn Composers Room and Hofheimer Art Library, 11 a.m. to noon; meet in vestibule of Diehn Composers Room in Diehn F&PA Center. FMI, 683-4186.

Through Friday, July 31
Virginia Student Retention Recruitment program, 8 a.m. to 12:15 p.m., Constant Hall. FMI, 683-3305.

Saturday, August 1
Admissions open house, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m., Kaufman Mall (lunch at noon, Elizabeth River Beach). FMI, 683-3650.

Annual university picnic at Harbor Park (Tides vs. Ottawa Lynx), sponsored by Alumni Association, 7:30 p.m. FMI, 683-3097. $.

Wednesday, August 26
Welcome back picnic for faculty, 5 p.m., new faculty; 5:30 p.m., returning faculty; Elizabeth River Beach. FMI, 683-5759.

Thursday, August 27
State of the University address by President James V. Koch, 10 a.m., 102 MGB. FMI, 683-3114.

Friday, August 28
"Playfair," interactive program for freshmen, 7 p.m., Powhatan Field. FMI, 683-3446.

New faculty orientation, 8:15 a.m. to noon, H/NN/River Rooms, Webb Center. FMI, 683-3259.

Saturday, August 29
Fall semester classes begin.

"DEBUT" freshman orientation, 8 a.m., Webb Center, followed by picnic at noon, Elizabeth River Beach. FMI, 683-3428.

Sunday, August 30
Freshman convocation, 6 p.m., Kaufman Mall. FMI, 683-3446.

SPORTS

Friday, July 31 - Friday, Aug. 7
AAU Junior Olympics baseball competition, featuring athletes ages 6-19, 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. (8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Aug. 5), Bud Metheny Field. FMI or to serve as a volunteer at any of the 20 AAU sporting events throughout Hampton Roads July 26 to Aug. 8, call 624-2400.

Sunday, August 23
Men's soccer team vs. UNC-Chapel Hill, 1 p.m., soccer stadium. FMI, 683-4444. $.


THE COURIER