[ skip to content ]

University Theatre Presents Its 2008-09 Season

Classical works from theatre and literature, mixed with modern-day techniques and adaptations, feature prominently in the performances slated for Old Dominion University's 2008-09 theatre season. Individual and season tickets are now available by calling the Arts and Letters box office at 683-5305.

The season opened in September with "Persephone Wept," presented in conjunction with the Baron and Ellin Gordon Art Galleries show, "Interrupted Life: Incarcerated Mothers in the United States," as part of the Humanities Encounter: Incarceration and Interrupted Life symposium held at the university Sept. 20 through Oct. 12.

The season continues in October with the presentation of two performances: "Polaroid Stories," written by Naomi Iizuka, which opens Thursday, Oct. 16, and "Frankenstein: The Modern Prometheus," a new adaptation by the CORE Theatre Ensemble based on Mary Shelley's classic novel, "Frankenstein," which opens Friday, Oct. 17.

"Polaroid Stories" combines classical mythology with the real-life stories of street kids, blending poetry and reality into a language that reflects the intense, chaotic and disturbing world of life on the city streets. The production, which originally opened in 2007 at the Hollywood Fight Club to full houses and rave reviews and is now at The Actor's Playpen in Los Angeles for a limited engagement, is being produced by special arrangement with the Dramatic Publishing Co. of Woodstock, Ill.

In "Frankenstein: The Modern Prometheus," the CORE Theatre Ensemble brings to life the timely and relevant story of man vs. monster, tackling the issues of morality and social responsibility in our modern world of genetics and bioengineering. After discovering the secrets of animating human remains, Victor Frankenstein assembles body parts to create a living monster. Fueled by hate and revenge after being rejected by society, the creation asks its creator to provide a mate. The eventual confrontation between them leaves a wake of death and ultimately reduces both to ruins.

"Hansel & Gretel, the Opera," written by German composer Engelbert Humperdinck, is presented as a collaborative effort among ODU's theatre, dance and music programs. The show, which opens Feb. 19 at the University Theatre, presents the classic fairy tale of two children lost in the woods who fall prey to an evil witch.

The season closes with "Women of Lockerbie" in April, a fictional work inspired by the true story of the victims of the Pan Am 103 crash and those wanting to honor their memories. Written in the structure of a Greek tragedy, it is a poetic drama about the triumph of love over hate.

Performance Schedule 2008

"Polaroid Stories"

8 p.m. - Thursday, Oct. 16; Thursday, Oct. 23; Friday, Oct. 24; Saturday, Oct. 25; Tuesday, Oct. 28; Wednesday, Oct. 29; Saturday, Nov. 1

2:30 p.m. - Saturday, Oct. 18 

"Frankenstein: The Modern Prometheus"

8 p.m. - Friday, Oct. 17; Saturday, Oct. 18; Tuesday, Oct. 21; Wednesday, Oct. 22; Thursday, Oct. 30; Friday, Oct. 31

2:30 p.m. - Saturday, Oct. 25 

All performances of "Frankenstein: The Modern Prometheus" and "Polaroid Stories" will be held at the University Theatre, located on Hampton Boulevard between 46th and 47th streets.

Performance Schedule 2009

"Hansel and Gretel, the Opera"

8 p.m. - Thursday, Feb. 19; Friday, Feb. 20; Saturday, Feb. 21; Thursday, Feb. 26; Friday, Feb. 27; and Saturday, Feb. 28.

All performances of "Hansel and Gretel, the Opera" will be held at the University Theatre, located on Hampton Boulevard between 46th and 47th streets.

"The Women of Lockerbie"

TBD - Thursday, April 16; Friday, April 17; Saturday, April 18; Thursday, April 23; Friday, April 24; and Saturday, April 25

The times and location of "The Women of Lockerbie" performance will be announced at a later date.

Tickets for all performances are $10 for students and $15 for general admission. They may be purchased in advance at the Arts and Letters box office, located in the lobby of the University Theatre, or by calling 683-5305. Tickets also are available at the door an hour before each performance. Free parking is available in the 45th Street garage.

For more information, call 683-3608.

This article was posted on: October 7, 2008

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114
http://www.odu.edu/news

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.