[ skip to content ]

College of Business and Public Administration Honors Outstanding Students, Faculty, Staff

The College of Business and Public Administration held its annual program honoring outstanding students, faculty and staff on April 15.

Thirty one students were inducted into the Honor Society of Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society recognizing the outstanding academic achievements of students enrolled in collegiate business and management programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

To be eligible for membership in Beta Gamma Sigma, a student must rank in the upper 7 percent of the junior class, the upper 10 percent of the senior class or the upper 20 percent of the graduating master's class.

Inducted students included:


  • Nathan Canu
  • Mary Culton
  • Brian Kint
  • Dorothy Rivers
  • Jamar Whitted


  • Jason Alfano
  • Saghar Baqeri
  • Carol Bassett
  • Christina Cooper
  • Matthew Downing
  • Amber Groton
  • Annette Haenel-Clemmons
  • Jimmy Henderson
  • Sebastian Kentsch
  • Tammy Lee
  • Robert Lovings
  • Alexander Martin
  • Peggy Martin
  • Mary Parker
  • Terry Parrish
  • Kimberly Porter
  • Ozzy Reynolds
  • Ashley Rudiger
  • Beth Shenk
  • Daniel Smits
  • Andrea Soma
  • Ann Tardy
  • Jason Thacker
  • Jennifer Woodell
  • Wei Zhang


  • David Hall

Nine students were inducted into the Honor Society of Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society that recognizes academic achievement in the field of public affairs and administration.

To be eligible for membership in Pi Alpha Alpha, students must have maintained a GPA of at least 3.7 and have completed at least 50 percent of the required coursework for the degree.

Inducted students included:

  • Megan Iacobellis
  • Amber Keyser
  • Brad Lazernick
  • Ryan Livingston
  • David Nunnally
  • Tom Poulin
  • Stephanie Straus
  • Tancy Vandecar Burdin
  • Teresa Van Nostrand.

The following student awards were presented:

  • CBPA Alumni Award - Nelson Pimentel
  • CBPA Outstanding Students for the Bagwell-Jones Prize - Tammy W. Lee and Nelson Pimentel
  • Wall Street Journal Award - Brian Kint
  • Honors Program Outstanding Graduating Student Award - Jody South
  • Outstanding Decision Sciences Student Award - Jason Thacker
  • Jack W. Nickson & Nathaniel Shechter Memorial Award for Excellence in Economics - Kristopher Velez
  • Agarwal-Yochum Scholarship - Thomas Johnson
  • Outstanding Financial Management Student Award -  Brian Kint
  • Outstanding Insurance Student Award - Robert Lovings
  • Outstanding Real Estate Student Award - Benjamin Sutherland
  • William H. Crouch Chapter of the Information Systems and Project Management Professionals Outstanding Student - Chang Xiao
  • Outstanding Information Technology Student - Amber Groton
  • Outstanding International Business Student - Oana Nordvall
  • Outstanding Management Student - Ashley Rudiger
  • Outstanding Marketing Student - Danielle McGowan
  • Outstanding MA Student in Economics - Yingxue Li
  • Outstanding MBA Students - Dulcie Grabarczyk, David Hall, Tina Johnson
  • Outstanding Masters Student in Public Administration - David Nunnally
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student in Public Administration and Urban Policy - Tancy Vandecar-Burdin
  • Wolfgang Pindur Endowed Scholarship in Applied Research - Schnequa Diggs, Katie Neill
  • Military Leadership Sciences Outstanding Cadet - Cadet Christopher Benjumea
  • Military Leadership Sciences Cadet Leadership Award - Cadet Natasha Bennett
  • Institute of Management Accountants Outstanding Accounting Student - Mark Gallant
  • Association of Government Accountants Outstanding Government Auditing Student - Christine Myers
  • Tidewater Chapter of Institute of Internal Auditors Outstanding Auditing Students - Ashley Allen, Dana Clarke
  • Tidewater Chapter of the Virginia Society of CPA=s Outstanding Accounting Students - Emily Sabo
  • Virginia Society of CPA=s Outstanding Accounting Student - Tammy Lee
  • Federation of Schools of Accountancy Outstanding Graduate Student Award - Robert Jones
  • Jack W. Kerr, Jr. Outstanding Graduate Taxation Student Award - Alexander Martin
  • Dehority Accounting Alumni Scholarship - Alyssa Pietrobono
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student in Finance - Changmei Zhang
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student in Marketing - Kungpo Tao
  • Outstanding Doctoral Student in Management - Weichu Xu
  • Outstanding Maritime and Supply Chain Management Student - Ann Tardy
  • Virginia Maritime Association/Carter T. Gunn Scholarship - Andrei Kazlovich
  • South Atlantic and Caribbean Ports Scholarship, with a matching scholarship from the Virginia Port Authority - Scott Babcock
  • Rolf Williams Scholarship -Propeller Club of the United States, Port of Norfolk Scholarship Award - Scott Babcock
  • Propeller Club of the United States, Old Dominion University (chapter) - Sara Rona

Faculty awards were presented to:

  • Faculty Research Award: Harris Wu, assistant professor of information technology
  • Faculty Teaching Award: Anil Nair, associate professor of management
  • Faculty Advising Award: Roy Cunningham, senior lecturer of management
  • Faculty Service Award: Douglas Ziegenfuss, professor of accounting

The College's Adjunct Faculty Teaching Award was presented to Lowery "Tuck" Finley III, adjunct professor of finance (insurance).

The Classified Staff Member of Year Award was presented to Carlisa Merritt, budget manager.

Faculty and staff award winners receive $500 in cash and a plaque.

This article was posted on: May 12, 2009

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.