[ skip to content ]

BANNER BASICS CLASSES BEGIN JAN. 14

The following Banner training courses will be held in 2004 (All will meet in room 206 of Rollins Hall):

BANNER BASICS
During this session, participants will gain general Banner navigation skills so that they can access information in Banner. The information provided in this session provides the knowledge base on which all other Banner training sessions will build.

Participants will also be shown how to create a personal menu of frequently used forms. The class facilitator is Kathie Parker.Audience: New Banner users

Date(s)/Time(s):
8:30-11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Jan. 14; Thursday, March 4; Tuesday, May 4
1-4 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 3; Wednesday, April 7; Wednesday, June 2

BANNER FINANCE AND BUDGET
During this hands-on experience participants will learn how to access and interpret budget information in Banner; learn the forms in Banner that allow departments to do internal financial reporting; check available balances (and understand why discrepancies can occur); identify Banner transaction codes; research invoices and vendor addresses; check base budget information; and encumber limited purchase orders. The class facilitator is Kathie Parker. Audience: Banner users who plan and access financial and budget information.

Date(s)/Times:
1-4 p.m. Thursday, Jan. 22; Tuesday, March 9; Wednesday, May 12
8:30-11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Feb. 11; Tuesday, April 13; Thursday, June 10

BANNER GENERAL STUDENT
During this session, participants will learn how to access information on students. Topics covered include how to do a name search if you do not have the ID#; determine the gender and marital status of a student; determine
the admissions status of a student (including missing credentials); view test scores; see if a student has declared a major; determine if a student has holds and what they are; view what classes a student is registered for each semester; view a class roster; and see if a freshman has the learning community attribute needed to register, view academic history; and find out if a student has applied for graduation and/or graduated. The class facilitator is Kathie Parker. Audience: Banner users who access and input student information

Date(s)/Times:
1-4 p.m., Tuesday, Jan. 27; Thursday, March 18; Wednesday, May 19
8:30-11:30 a.m. Wednesday, Feb. 18; Tuesday, April 20; Tuesday, June 15

You can access a registration form for these classes at the following web address. Please complete the form, print it out, have it signed by your supervisor, and send it to Human Resources or you may FAX it to 683-3050. http://www.odu.edu/af/humanresources/training/banner.pdf.

This article was posted on: December 19, 2003

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114
http://www.odu.edu/news

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.