[ skip to content ]


The Board of Visitors on Dec. 8 voted to approve an early-retirement plan for teaching and research faculty for the 2006-07 and 2007-08 academic years.
The plan will be instituted to encourage the retirement of senior faculty, retain sufficient salary to hire replacements at the assistant professor rank and create additional positions with the remaining funds. It would become effective upon approval from the governor.

To be eligible, a faculty member must be at least 65 at the date of retirement, tenured and have a minimum 10 years of full-time service at ODU.

In other action, the board approved the establishment of an Institute for the Advancement of Community Justice.

It will be housed in the sociology and criminal justice department and will bring together scholars from multiple disciplines across campus who are interested in a variety of research topics that share a common interest in community justice.

The purpose of the institute is to foster interdisciplinary research in community justice at ODU, to disseminate knowledge on issues central to community justice to other scholars and to community leaders, and to create opportunities for discussion among scholars, community leaders and local agencies on issues related to community justice.

The board further approved a resolution to name the indoor tennis facility that's currently under construction, the Folkes/Stevens Indoor Tennis Center. It will be named for S. Grey and Amy Folkes and Ricky and Judy Stevens in recognition of their contributions to the project. They have been longtime supporters of ODU and Hampton Roads tennis.

In other matters, the board voted to:
• Award tenure to Margaret Mulholland, assistant professor of ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences, effective with the spring 2007 semester;
• Grant the title of emeritus to Justin C. Friberg, associate professor of political science and geography, effective Jan. 1, 2007;
• Appoint two faculty members with tenure, effective Dec. 25, 2006: Brenda Stevenson Marshall as assistant dean of the College of Health Sciences and associate professor of community and environmental health, and Ali Beskok as professor of aerospace engineering with the designation of Batten Professor of Computational Engineering; and
• Appoint the following administrators: John A. Sokolowski as director of research at the Virginia Modeling, Analysis and Simulation Center; E. Ann Grandy as executive director of the Community Development Corp. in the Office of the President; Zohir Handy as licensing and patents manager in the Office of Research; and Ben Murray as director of the Big Blue Club in the Office of Development.

At a luncheon prior to the meeting, President Roseann Runte, on behalf of the board, presented resolutions of appreciation to Dana Burnett, ODU's longtime vice president for student affairs who stepped down recently to chair the educational leadership and counseling department, and Claire Ackiss, who retired in July from her position as director of alumni relations.

This article was posted on: December 12, 2006

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.