[ skip to content ]


Senior Marina DiGiacomo of Mendoza, Argentina, has been selected as the 2000-01 Honda Sports Award winner for field hockey, as announced Dec. 6 by the Honda Awards Program.

As field hockey's honoree, DiGiacomo is automatically nominated for the Honda-Broderick Cup, to be presented to the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year at the Honda Awards Program banquet June 1 in Salt Lake City.

DiGiacomo, a captain of Old Dominion's 2000 NCAA national championship field hockey squad, becomes the fifth Lady Monarch to be honored with this award, symbolic of the National Player of the Year in each of the NCAA's 11 sponsored women's sports.

DiGiacomo is one of three members of Old Dominion's field hockey team named recently as All-Americans. Also selected to the 2000 AstroTurf/NFHCA Division I All-America team, as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association, were junior Adrienne Yoder (Coopersburg, Pa.) and sophomore Marjolijn van der Sommen (Leiden, Netherlands).

This article was posted on: December 12, 2000

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.