[ skip to content ]


A team of students from Old Dominion University's Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology won one of the top awards in the 10th annual Hampton Roads CANstruction competition, which challenges architects, engineers and students to build innovative structures using cans of food.

The students won the competition's Best Structural Ingenuity Award for their 5-foot-tall, yellow Pac-Man figure preparing to gobble up a blue module labeled as "Hunger." The title of the entry is "PAC Hunger Away."

The 12 entries in this year's competition were built and displayed at the Selden Arcade in downtown Norfolk. When the structures are dismantled, the canned goods were donated to the Foodbank of Southeastern Virginia. The total weight of the cans used in this year's Hampton Roads competition is 45,500 pounds.

All teams solicit sponsorships and donations in order to obtain the cans they use in their structures. Tape and cardboard are the only other materials allowed.

Other top winners were teams from professional firms. The Jurors' Favorite Award went to Lyall Design Inc., the Best Use of Labels Award to Clark Nexsen Architecture and Engineering and the Best Meal Award to MMM Design Group.

Analiza Feniza and Tayler Burgess were co-captains of the engineering student team. Other team members: Blake Bristol, Christina Wong, Christopher Hayden, Harold Sumpter Jr., Jack Nagle, Jake Decowski, James Stephens, Jennifer Easterling, Jonathan Atkinson, Joseph Faustino, Justin Hunt, Kimberly Gibbs, Kyle Edgemon, Liang Dong, Matt Woodzell, Mike Dominice, Nicholas Pudim, Olga Belanger, Philip Ashe, Rowena Altoveros, Ryan Kozoriz, Samyukta Kodukula, Sierra White and Tariq Elhassani. CANstruction, a national charity created by the Society for Design Administration, is holding competitions in 84 cities this year.

This article was posted on: November 27, 2006

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.