[ skip to content ]


Old Dominion University President Roseann Runte was elected Nov. 8 as chair of the Virginia Tidewater Consortium for Higher Education (VTCHE) board of directors.

The purpose of the consortium is to provide maximum educational opportunity for the citizens of the Tidewater region.

"We are pleased to have Dr. Runte serve as chair," said Lawrence G. Dotolo, consortium president. "She has a good perception of regional cooperation."

Consortium member institutions include: Christopher Newport University, College of William and Mary, Eastern Shore Community College, Eastern Virginia Medical School, Hampton University, Joint Forces Staff College, Norfolk State University, Old Dominion University, Paul D. Camp Community College, Regent University, Thomas Nelson Community College, Tidewater Community College and Virginia Wesleyan College.

A proactive consortium, VTCHE maintains the following goals:
• To determine the need for higher education programs and to provide increased educational opportunities for area residents.
• To encourage cooperative projects among the institutions of higher education to better serve the citizens of the area.
• To establish linkages between the member institutions and business, industry, government and the military.
• To enrich existing academic opportunities, exchange and articulation programs.
• To work cooperatively with the local school divisions to serve the educational needs of teachers and administrators.
• To develop the use of technology to enhance the teaching and learning process.
• To enhance the economic development of the region by providing an opportunity for the development of a highly trained workforce.

This article was posted on: November 21, 2006

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.