[ skip to content ]

College of Business and Public Administration Honors Students, Faculty, Staff

Old Dominion University's College of Business and Public Administration held its annual program honoring outstanding students, faculty and staff on April 26.

Nineteen students were inducted into the Honor Society of Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society recognizing the outstanding academic achievements of students enrolled in collegiate business and management programs accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business.

To be eligible for membership in Beta Gamma Sigma, a student must rank in the upper 7 percent of the junior class, the upper 10 percent of the senior class or the upper 20 percent of the graduating master's class.

Inducted students included:


• Ryan Schreiber


• Kayla Ameel

• Camille Cowin

• Alex Horton

• Xin Jin

• Manuela Hansmeier Johnson

• Gabriele Louise Jones

• Christopher Koclanes

• Pavel Martynenko

• Kyle Persinger

• Alan Pritchard

• Aaron Robbins

• Wadi Abi-Saab

• James Wright


• Jason Bartholomew

• Christopher Fuss

• Alexia McDonald

• Michael Smasal

• Amr Soror

• Martin Tsai

Ten students were inducted into the Honor Society of Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society that recognizes academic achievement in the field of public affairs and administration.

To be eligible for membership in Pi Alpha Alpha, students must have maintained a grade point average of at least 3.7 and have completed at least 50 percent of the required coursework for the degree.

Inducted students included:

• Georjeane Blumling

• Gregory Callaghan

• Robert Cook

• Eddie Crockett

• Schnequa Diggs

• Joseph Giltner

• James Lackey

• Kylie Lee

• Ashley Lipton

• Michael Walton

The following student awards were presented:

• CBPA Alumni Award - Aaron Robbins

• CBPA Outstanding Students for the Bagwell-Jones Prize - Brian C. Kint and Aaron Robbins

• Wall Street Journal Award - Aaron Robbins

• Honors Program Outstanding Graduating Student Award - James Osborne

• Outstanding Decision Sciences Student Award - Aleksandr Seleznev

• Jack W. Nickson & Nathaniel Shechter Memorial Award for Excellence in Economics - James E. Garris

• Agarwal-Yochum Scholarship - James E. Garris

• Outstanding Financial Management Student Award - Shawn M. Sabo

• Outstanding Insurance Student Award - Mary Catherine Callahan

• Outstanding Real Estate Student Award - Afshin Shamlou

• William H. Crouch Chapter of the Information Systems and Project Management Professionals Outstanding Student - Daniel Smits

• Outstanding Information Technology Student - Kyle Almas

• Outstanding International Business Student - Manuela Johnson

• Outstanding Management Student - Nathan Canu

• Outstanding Marketing Student - Jennifer L. Mullen

• Outstanding M.A. Student in Economics - Sheranga Dias

• Outstanding M.B.A. Student - Craig Wightman

• Outstanding Master's Student in Public Administration - James C. Lackey

• Outstanding Doctoral Student in Public Administration and Urban Policy - Brandi L. Blessett

• Wolfgang Pindur Endowed Scholarship in Applied Research - Michael B. Russell, Vivian W. Greentree

• Military Leadership Sciences Outstanding Cadet - Cadet Axia L. Jelderks

• Military Leadership Sciences Cadet Leadership Award - Cadet Jay P. Irwin

• Institute of Management Accountants Outstanding Accounting Student - Megan M. Robison

• Association of Government Accountants Outstanding Government Auditing Student - Randy F. Pullins

• Tidewater Chapter of Institute of Internal Auditors Outstanding Auditing Students - Jamarr W. Whitted

• Tidewater Chapter of the Virginia Society of CPAs Outstanding Accounting Student - Alyssa S. Petrobono

• Virginia Society of CPAs Outstanding Accounting Student - Brian C. Kint

• Federation of Schools of Accountancy Outstanding Graduate Student Award - Mark Gallant

• Jack W. Kerr Jr. Outstanding Graduate Taxation Student Award - John S. Hefley

• Dehority Accounting Alumni Scholarship - Steven R. Doskey

• Outstanding Doctoral Student in Finance - Boris Abbey

• Outstanding Doctoral Student in Information Technology - Liu Liu Fu

• Outstanding Doctoral Student in Marketing - Sarah Mady

• Outstanding Doctoral Student in Management - Maureen Muller

• Outstanding Maritime and Supply Chain Management Student - Donald (Scott) Babcock

• Rolf Williams Scholarship -Propeller Club of the United States, Port of Norfolk Scholarship Award - Grant Berger

Faculty awards were presented to:

Faculty Research Award - Ling Li, assistant professor of decision sciences

Faculty Teaching Award (tenured/tenure track) - Yuping Liu-Thompkins, associate professor of marketing

Faculty Teaching Award (non-tenure track) - Jimmy Carraway, senior lecturer of information technology

Faculty Advising Award - Roya Ardalan, senior lecturer of information technology

Faculty Service Award - Bruce Rubin, professor of finance; David Cook, professor of decision sciences

The Classified Staff Member of Year Award was presented to Vicki Curtis, executive assistant for economics, information technology and decision sciences.

Faculty and staff award winners receive $500 in cash and a plaque.

This article was posted on: May 4, 2010

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.