[ skip to content ]

Faculty Are the Impetus and Inspiration for Our Graduates

As the pomp and circumstance of commencement fades away, I want to recognize the heroes of another successful academic year - the faculty.

At Old Dominion University, we can boast of some of the best faculty in the world, bar none. Day in and day out, our professors are dedicated to not only teaching students about the particulars of any given subject, but also educating them on the broader, yet essential, skills that are the foundation of their future successes.

Each year, six students are recognized as Outstanding Scholars in each of the colleges.  As part of their honor, they name the faculty member who provided the most inspiration to them in reaching their educational goals.  These faculty members personify the mission of Old Dominion University and I'd like to thank them for their positive impact on these talented students.  They include: Bismarck Myrick, lecturer of international affairs; Randall Spurrier, senior lecturer of accounting; Philip Reed, associate professor of STEM education and professional studies; Jaewon Yoon, associate professor of civil and environmental engineering; Amy Lee, senior lecturer of nursing; and Ralph Stevens, associate professor of biological sciences.

I'd also like to give special recognition to this year's university-wide faculty awards winners:

• Garrett McAuliffe, University Professor of counseling and human services, received the A. Rufus Tonelson Faculty Award for research, scholarship, teaching and service excellence;

• Gary Edgerton, professor of communication and theatre arts, and Li-Shi Luo, professor of mathematics and statistics, received the Faculty Research Achievement Award;

• Steve C. Hsiung, associate professor of engineering technology, received both the Faculty Research Mentor Award and the Provost's Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentor;

• Regina Karp, associate professor of political science and international studies, received the Provost's Award for Leadership in International Education;

• Ali Ardalan, assistant professor of information systems, David Basco, professor of civil and environmental engineering, and Steve Hsiung, associate professor of engineering technology, received Teaching with Technology Awards.

Additionally, Old Dominion recognized four faculty members with the prestigious title of University Professor: Francis Adams, Nancy Klein, Gayle McCombs and Charles Sukenik.

Congratulations to each of you and a heartfelt thank you to our entire faculty for your commitment to the students and to Old Dominion University!

This article was posted on: May 10, 2011

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.