[ skip to content ]

Governor McDonnell Appoints Members to ODU Board of Visitors

Three new members were appointed to four-year terms on the Old Dominion University Board of Visitors on Friday by Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell.

Rector David L. Bernd of Virginia Beach, the CEO of Sentara Healthcare, was also reappointed to a four-year term.

The new members are John F. Biagas of Yorktown, the president and CEO of Bay Electric Co., Inc.; Ronald C. Ripley of Virginia Beach, president of Ripley Heatwole Co; and Judy Swystun of Norfolk, president and owner of Black and White Cabs.

The appointees' terms will run through June 2016.

Leaving the board will be Sarita Brown, Linda Forehand and Adm. Harold Gehman Jr., retired.

Other board members and their current term expiration date are: Jeffrey Ainslie (June 2014), Kenneth Ampy, secretary (June 2013), Frank Batten Jr. (June 2013), J. William Cofer (June 2015), Dee Gilmore (June 2014), Luke Hillier (June 2014), Marc Jacobson (June 2014), Andrea Kilmer (June 2015), Pamela Kirk, vice rector (June 2013), Barry Kornblau (June 2015), Frank Reidy (June 2015) and Fred Whyte (June 2014).

This article was posted on: July 7, 2012

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.