[ skip to content ]


Adolphus Hailstork and Andrey Kasparov, faculty members in the Old Dominion University Department of Music, have received annual awards from the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP).

The awards reflect ASCAP's commitment to assisting and encouraging composers and are granted by an independent panel. They are based upon the value of each writer's catalog of original compositions, as well as recent performances.

Panelists included critics and journalists from such leading publications as The Newark Star-Ledger and Billboard magazine, as well as Michael Morgan, conductor of the Oakland-East Bay Symphony Orchestra, and Steve Smith, classical music critic for Time Out New York.

This article was posted on: September 8, 2004

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.