[ skip to content ]


President James V. Koch announced at his State of the University address Aug. 26 the selection of seven faculty members who will carry the title University Professor for the next four years.

The seven join eight colleagues who were named at this time last year as the first group to earn the distinction.

"Designation as a University Professor is the most prestigious recognition that the univrsity can bestow on a teaching colleague," Koch said. "It signifies that he/she is a truly exceptional pedagogue who is a masterful teacher and recognized as such by both colleagues and students."

University Professors receive a four-year appointment and an annual stipend of $2,500 to support professional development.

Selected for the award are:
*John A. Adam, mathematics and statistics
*Robert L. Ake, chemistry and biochemistry
*Michele M. Darby, dental hygiene
*Lorraine M. Lees, history
*Linda L. Lilley, nursing
*Kneeland K. Nesius, biological sciences
*John F. Toomey, music.

This article was posted on: August 25, 1999

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.