[ skip to content ]


More than 1,500 scientists, educators and coastal resource managers from throughout the world have registered to attend the 18th Biennial Conference of the Estuarine Research Federation in Norfolk Oct. 16-20. Seventeen members of the faculty at Old Dominion University will be presenting research.

Colloquia and symposia will address topics pertaining to coastal invasive species, sensor technology for observing coastal environments, harmful algal blooms, water birds of the Chesapeake Bay, the future of the Chesapeake Bay and effective coastal resource management practices in Europe, China and Japan, as well as the United States.

Participants also will be invited to take field trips to coastal destinations in Virginia and North Carolina. Most conference events and activities will be at the Norfolk Marriott and the Sheraton Norfolk Waterside Hotel.

Faculty presenters from the ODU Department of Ocean, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences include professors Richard Zimmerman (chair), Larry Atkinson, Greg Cutter, Chester Grosch, John Klinck and George Oertel; associate professors Fred Dobbs, Eileen Hofman and John McConaugha; assistant professor Margaret Mulholland; research assistant professors Jay Austin, Martina Doblin and Lisa Drake, and post doctoral research scientist Victoria Hill.

Faculty presenters from the ODU Department of Biological Sciences include Harold Marshall, Morgan Professor Emeritus, as well as professors Andrew Gordon and David Burdige.

Arnoldo Valle-Levinson, former ODU associate professor of ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences, is program co-chair for the ERF conference.

The conference will be followed by the Chesapeake Bay Colloquium Oct. 20-21 organized in conjunction with the Chesapeake Research Consortium. Mulholland is one of the conveners of the bay colloquium.

This article was posted on: August 8, 2005

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.