[ skip to content ]


Old Dominion can recommend eight faculty members for the State Council of Higher Education's 16th annual Outstanding Faculty Awards Program, and nominations will be accepted through Aug. 13.

Faculty and administrators can nominate any full-time faculty member by submitting a letter addressing that faculty member's qualifications for the award; a copy of his or her current vita, recent quantitative and qualitative teaching evaluations, a record of grants received, and information about his or her public service activities. The nomination must be endorsed by the dean of the faculty member's college.

All nominations must be delivered to John P. Broderick, Office of Academic Affairs no later than Monday, August 13.

The Council's selection criteria indicate that the successful candidate should have "a current record of superior accomplishment in teaching, research, or service." With regard to teaching, the Council's Committee looks for nominees whose outstanding performance has been recognized by a significant award and supported by testimony from students and colleagues. In the area of research, preference has been given to nominees who have published books, received significant grants, and have a substantial record of published articles and paper presentations. Service extends to both the university and regional community, as well as professional service. A copy of the Council's nomination guidelines for the 2002 Outstanding Faculty Awards Program is available on line at http://web.odu.edu/ao/affairs/ofa.htm.

The university's Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee will review the nominees by late August and submit their recommendations to Dave Hager, acting provost.

Eleven educators across the state will be recognized. Each recipient will receive a $5,000 award, from funds appropriated by the General Assembly, and a specially designed commemorative plaque from the Council of Higher Education. In addition, the award winners will be introduced to the members of the General Assembly in the wells of both the Senate and House of Delegates and be honored at a luncheon at the Governor's mansion.

During the last 11 years, 12 Old Dominion faculty members have received the Council's Outstanding Faculty Award. The Old Dominion winners include: Dwight Allen, Eminent Professor of educational reform and Sushil Chaturvedi, professor of mechanical engineering (2001); John Toomey, associate professor of music (2000); Dan Dauer, professor of biological sciences and Chris Drake, professor of geography (1999); Dana Heller, associate professor of English (1997); William Stanley, professor of engineering technology (1996); Helen Rountree, professor of anthropology (1995); Nancy Bazin, professor of English (1994); Michele Darby, professor of dental hygiene (1993); Greg Selby, associate professor of mechanical engineering (1992); and Karen Polonko, professor of sociology (1991).

For more information, contact Dr. Broderick at 683-3259 or jpbroder@odu.edu.

This article was posted on: August 7, 2001

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.