[ skip to content ]


Nominations are being accepted for Old Dominion's representatives in the State Council of Higher Education's 17th annual Outstanding Faculty competition to recognize excellence in teaching, research and service.

Nine faculty members across the commonwealth will receive a $5,000 award and a specially designed commemorative plaque. In addition, the nine award winners will be introduced to the members of the General Assembly in the wells of both the Senate and House of Delegates and be honored at a luncheon hosted by the governor at the Executive Mansion.

During the past 12 years, 13 Old Dominion faculty have been honored. Previous winners include: Dwight Allen, Eminent Professor of educational reform (2001); Nancy Bazin, professor of English (1994); Sushil Chaturvedi, professor of mechanical engineering (2001); Michele Darby, professor of dental hygiene and dental assisting (1993); Dan Dauer, professor of biological sciences (1999); Christine Drake, professor of geography (1999); Dana Heller, associate professor of English (1997); Janet Peery, associate professor of English and creative writing (2002); Karen Polonko, professor of sociology (1991); Helen Rountree, professor of anthropology (1995); Greg Selby, associate professor of mechanical engineering (1992); William Stanley, professor of engineering technology (1996); and John Toomey, associate professor of music (2000).

Old Dominion University has been allocated eight nomination slots for the 2003 program. All faculty and administrators are encouraged to nominate their full-time faculty colleagues for this important statewide recognition program. The council's Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee will make final selection of the award recipients late in 2002.

Selection criteria indicate that the successful candidate should have a current record of superior accomplishment in teaching, research, or service. Past selections indicate a preference to nominees who are clearly outstanding in teaching and have made significant contributions in research. With regard to teaching, the committee looks for nominees whose outstanding performance has been recognized by a significant teaching award and supported by letters from students and colleagues as well as by student evaluations. In the area of research, preference has been given to nominees who have published books and received significant grants, in addition to a substantial record of published articles and paper presentations. In service, nominees should have a significant record of outstanding community and professional service.

In order to nominate a faculty member for the Council's Award, please submit the following:

(1) a nomination letter that addresses the faculty member's qualifications for the award;
(2) a copy of his or her current curriculum vitae;
(3) recent quantitative and qualitative teaching evaluations (for at least the past two years); and
(4) a letter of endorsement from the dean of the faculty member's college.

The nomination letter, curriculum vitae or dean's letter contain explicit information about previous teaching awards or nominations (in addition to other evidence of excellence in teaching), information about the faculty member's record of grants received (in addition to listing other research accomplishments), and information about his or her community and professional service activities (in addition to information about university service).

All nominations must be delivered to Dr. John P. Broderick, chair of the University Outstanding Faculty Awards Committee, c/o Department of English, no later than Monday, Aug. 12.

The university committee will review the nominees during the week of Aug. 12 and will meet on Monday, Aug. 19 to make final recommendations.

This article was posted on: July 2, 2002

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.