[ skip to content ]


Three university presidents gathered on the campus of Old Dominion University Monday morning to sign a memorandum of agreement between the Hampton Roads Naval ROTC Unit and Tidewater Community College, adding to the Navy's first multi-institutional national NROTC consortium.

Roseann Runte, of Old Dominion, Carolyn Meyers, of Norfolk State and Deborah DiCroce, of Tidewater Community College, were present at the ceremony.

The consortium, which is headquartered at Old Dominion University, currently consists of students from Old Dominion and Norfolk State and Hampton Universities.

The new agreement permits TCC students to enroll in the ROTC program, taking prerequisite bachelor's degree naval science coursework at Old Dominion or Norfolk State. Upon completion of an associate degree at TCC, students will then pursue a bachelor's degree at either institution and receive commissioning as ensigns in the Navy or second lieutenants in the Marine Corps.

According to Capt. Kelly Baragar, commanding officer of the Hampton Roads NROTC, this agreement allows students greater opportunity to compete for scholarship dollars based on their performance at the college level.

"This agreement presents a wonderful opportunity for a wide variety of students who wish to pursue careers in the U.S. Navy and Marine Corps," he said.

This article was posted on: June 25, 2007

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.