[ skip to content ]


"A Representation of the New Music Performance Collection," a selection of original compositions from the New Music Performance Collection, will be from 3-5:30 p.m. Sunday, June 8, in the Chandler Hall of the Diehn Fine and Performing Arts Center.

The concert will feature the works of composers Frank Felice, Jan Krzywicki, Michael McFerron, Frances Thompson McKay, Timothy Melbinger, Brian Robison and Alicyn Warren. The performers include Creo, the Old Dominion University's contemporary music ensemble, and members of the Virginia Symphony Orchestra and the Virginia Chorale. The program is directed by Andrey Kasparov, professor of music at Old Dominion University.

A reception follows in the atrium of the Diehn Center. Both the concert and reception are free and open to the public.

The New Music Performance Collection is a cooperative project of the Virginia Tidewater Consortium libraries to serve music faculty members who incorporate new music in their teaching. The Collection features compositions created after 1970 by active composers. For more information about the project, please view the Web page at http://www.lib.odu.edu/newmusic.

This concert of new music is made possible by a grant from the F. Ludwig Diehn Music Fund of the Norfolk Foundation. For more information, please call Anna Gordon, Diehn Composers Room consultant, at (757) 683-4175.

This article was posted on: May 12, 2003

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.