[ skip to content ]


Deboki Nandan Chaudhuri of Hampton was honored as Old Dominion University's Dominion Scholar at the recent 2004-05 Student Honors and Awards Banquet.

Chaudhuri, who graduated with a 3.99 GPA, named Ralph W. Stevens as his most inspirational faculty member. The son of a doctor at the Veteran's Affairs Medical Center in Hampton, Chaudhuri will continue his studies in medicine at Eastern Virginia Medical School, where he will join his brother, Krisha, who graduated last year from ODU.

Zeal R. Patel of Norfolk, who graduated with a 3.96 GPA, received the Kaufman Prize and listed Janet E. Brunelle as his most inspirational faculty member. Monique Cianfrani of Chesapeake was the runner-up.

Kendra Boykin of Hampton, who graduated with a 4.0 GPA, was named the Phi Kappa Phi Graduate Fellowship Nominee

Alumni award recipients and their inspirational faculty include:

- Angela Christine Sexton of Newport News (4.0 GPA), College of Arts and Letters, Jeffrey P. Jones

- Allison Virginia Hawley of Chesapeake (4.0 GPA), College of Business and Public Administration,
Ann V. Schwarz-Miller

- Shanon Harrison Chau of Norfolk (3.96 GPA), Darden College of Education, James A. Onate

- Jaime Scott Zahorian of Chesapeake (3.98 GPA), Batten College of Engineering and Technology,
Keith M. Williamson

- Tina Marie Keesee of Virginia Beach (4.0 GPA), College of Health Sciences, Scott R. Sechrist

- Michelle Lynn Woods of Portsmouth (4.0 GPA), College of Sciences, Mark S. Elliott

This article was posted on: May 11, 2005

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.