[ skip to content ]


The Frank Batten College of Engineering and Technology honored faculty and staff April 25 during it's annual spring meeting, and recognized top students May 4 at the Norfolk Yacht and Country Club.

Awards were presented to members of the college who excelled in a particular area. The faculty and staff honorees were presented with a plaque and given a reserved parking space in the lot behind Kaufman Hall.

Charles Keating, professor of engineering management and systems engineering and director of the Center for System of Systems Engineering, was named the 2007 Excellence in Research award recipient for his research in systems engineering methodology, project management systems and international quality management systems design.

Isaac L. Flory IV, assistant professor of electrical engineering technology, won the Excellence in Teaching award for his outstanding contributions in the classroom. According to Flory, listening to students, paying attention to evaluations and comments, and making himself available to students has made him a better teacher.

Diane Mitchell, a graduate program support technician in mechanical engineering, won the Excellence in Support Operations award, which recognizes the support person who has demonstrated exceptional creativity, initiative and improvement in their role of providing support for departmental operations. The award recognizes a staff member who has contributed positively to the work climate, customer orientation, effectiveness and/or efficiency of operations of the college as a whole.

Anthony Dean, assistant professor of mechanical engineering technology, won the Excellence in Faculty Advising award for outstanding advising to students on how to achieve success in their undergraduate career and thereafter, in interactions with individuals or groups of students outside of the normal classroom environment.

Moustafa Moustafa, associate professor of mechanical engineering technology and Faculty-Industry Liaison to the Virginia Applied Technology and Professional Development Center, won the Excellence in Industrial Partnering award, which recognizes an individual who excels in initiating or leading the creation of partnerships of distinction with industrial, governmental and/or public organizations.

The following students were honored:
Aerospace Engineering: Karl Schultz
Experimental Methods: Yugapriya Wing
Civil and Environmental Engineering: Allyson Monsour
Computer Engineering: Ali Karasu
Electrical Engineering: Jacob Foytik
Engineering Management & Systems Engineering: Timothy Shelton
Civil Engineering Technology: Douglas Wasik
Electrical Engineering Technology: Shane Wolf
Mechanical Engineering Technology: Benjamin Keesee
Mechanical Engineering: Brian Meagher
Modeling and Simulation: Rafael Diaz
Naval Science: Brandon Oswald
Overall Excellence in Engineering Technology: Jonathan Pilon
Overall Excellence in Engineering: Brian Meagher
Academic Excellence in Engineering Technology: Kenneth Cormany
Academic Excellence in Engineering: Claudia Terrones

This article was posted on: May 8, 2007

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.