[ skip to content ]


Michael Zugelder, associate professor of finance, is the winner of the 2007 A. Rufus Tonelson Faculty Award of the Old Dominion University Alumni Association, which was presented at the Faculty Awards and Retirement Dinner Tuesday, May 1.

The award, which includes a $2,000 prize and a 12-month reserved parking space, is named for one of Old Dominion's first students, Alan Rufus Tonelson '33, who went on to serve as a professor and administrator of the university.

University Professor titles were awarded to Ravindara Joshi, engineering; Sheri Reynolds, English; Lawrence Weinstein, physics; and Michael Zugelder, finance.

Nearly 150 faculty members were honored at the event. The top service award-for 40 years at ODU-went to Robert Ash, aerospace engineering and Jim Jarrett, athletics.

Other award winners include: Gregory Cutter, professor of chemical oceanography, Faculty Research Achievement Award; Donald Smith, associate professor of sociology and criminal justice and Lawrence Weinstein, professor of physics, Instructional Technology Teaching Awards; Nancy Bagranoff, dean of the college of business and public administration, J. Worth Pickering Administrator of the Year; and David Hager, academic administrator and Maria Fornella-Oehninger, director of the Model United Nations, Provost's Awards for Leadership in International Education.

The Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant awards went to Donika Plyku, physics, laboratory; Theresa Kirchner, business administration, recitation.

Retiring faculty who were recognized included: Colin E. Box, associate professor of community and environmental health; Kae H. Chung, professor of management and international business; Terry L. Dickinson, professor of psychology; Frederick Freeman, professor of psychology; Justin Friberg, associate professor of political science and geography; Erlene M. Hendrix, associate professor of communication and theatre arts; John W. Kuehl, associate professor of history; Christopher Lovell, associate professor of educational leadership and counseling; Deborah F. Meltsner, senior lecturer of communication and theatre arts; Roger Richman, professor of urban studies and public administration; Robert Safford, research professor of engineering management and systems engineering; Stanley E. Weinstein, professor of mathematics and statistics; and George Wong, professor of ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences.

Retiring administrators who were recognized included: James Calliotte, university college; Cynthia Ghaemmaghami, academic skills instruction; Linda Morrison, academic skills instruction; and Don Runyon, auxiliary services.

This article was posted on: May 1, 2007

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.