[ skip to content ]


Chamber music focusing on the Civil War era will highlight the Norfolk Chamber Consort's final concert of the season at 8 p.m. Monday, April 9, in Chandler Recital Hall of the Diehn Fine and Performing Arts Center.

Known for its thematic programming concepts, the Consort in past seasons has traveled the musical globe, playing music of different countries or focusing exclusively on the music of a single composer. This will be the group's first concert to feature a theme as provocative as the Civil War.

The program will open with the "Old Folks Quadrilles" by Stephen Foster. The major work on the program will be "String Quartet No. 1" by Charles Ives., which uses many melodies, especially hymn tunes, that were widely known in the mid-19th century. Other selections include "Glory Hallelujah!" and "All Quiet Along the Potomac."

Perhaps the most unique work on the program is "A Letter from Nathaniel Giles," written in 1991 by Brian Bevelander. The work is scored for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and electronic tape, and will be conducted by Dennis Zeisler, chair of the music department.

The electronic portion contains the reading of a letter written by a solder in New Bern, N.C., in 1863. This poignant missive to his brother contains observations on the war, focusing on his sense of loneliness and concerns for his family.

Tickets will be on sale in the Diehn Center atrium at 7:30 p.m. Prices are $12.50 for general admission, $10 for seniors and military, and $5 for students.

A reception will follow the concert, at which the audience may greet the performers. The reception is sponsored by Colombrito's Plume Street Grille and Virginia Espresso.

This article was posted on: April 6, 2001

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.