[ skip to content ]


With the rules governing media monopoly and ownership up for discussion and possible alteration, the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) will hold a town hall forum Thursday, March 30 to seek opinions on how well or poorly the media are serving the community.

The Town Meeting on the Future of Media, which is free and open to the public, will be held at 7 p.m. in the Mills Godwin Jr. Building auditorium. FCC commissioners Jonathan Adelstein and Michael Copps will participate. A 2 p.m., one-one-one meeting with the commissioners will be open exclusively to ODU faculty and students in the Virginia Beach Room of Webb University Center.

"This is a unique opportunity for students to speak directly with policymakers. We urge faculty to encourage their students to attend, or if you teach a class at that time, please consider bringing your class as a means of discussing media regulatory issues," said Jeffrey P. Jones, assistant professor of communication and theatre arts.

The event is sponsored by Free Press, a national nonpartisan organization working to increase informed public participation in crucial media policy debates, and to generate policies that will produce a more competitive and public interest-oriented media system with a strong nonprofit and noncommercial sector.

Partnering in the presentation are: Old Dominion University, Norfolk State University, League of Women Voters of South Hampton Roads, Virginia Organizing Project, Urban League of Hampton Roads, Public Policy Virginia, Tidewater Peace Alliance, Hampton Roads Independent Media Coalition, Naro Expanded Cinema, Tidewater Sowers of Justice, Community Capacity Builders and Virginia National Organization for Women.

For more information call Amanda Ballantyne of Free Press at 612-849-0195.

This article was posted on: March 22, 2006

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.