[ skip to content ]


Twelve members of the Old Dominion field hockey squad were named Academic All-Americans by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA).

Janelle Engle (Mt. Joy, Pa.), Lynn Farquhar (Alexandria, Va.), Marybeth Freeman (Holland, Pa.), Cora Gerardi (Frederica, Del.), Mary Cate Gordon (Oreland, Pa.), Tara Herrmann (Perkasie, Pa.), Melissa Leonetti (Erdenheim, Pa.), Angie Loy (Loysville, Pa.), Becky Loy (Loysville, Pa.), Jenna McLane (Stowe, Vt.), Katie Moyer (Virginia Beach), and Tina Walker (Suffolk) were all named to the squad for their contributions on the field while maintaining at least a 3.3 cumulative grade point average.

The twelve members named to the national academic squad is the largest such group in Old Dominion history. The Lady Monarchs had nine members representing the squad last season.

Freeman earned her fourth Academic All-American honor, the first Lady Monarch four-time honoree. Angie and Becky Loy along with Herrmann both were named to the squad for the third time in their careers. Farquhar, Leonetti, and Walker each earned their second recognition.

The Old Dominion field hockey team finished the 2002 season 21-4, capturing their 11th CAA title and advancing to the NCAA Tournament for the 22nd consecutive year. The Lady Monarchs reached the semi-finals of the NCAA Tournament marking their 15th appearance in the "Final Four."

This article was posted on: March 3, 2003

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.