[ skip to content ]


Mechanical engineering professors Surendra Tiwari and Samir Ibrahim were announced recently as winners of national awards.

Tiwari was selected to receive the 2001 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics Thermophysics Award. It is given for an outstanding singular or sustained technical or scientific contribution in thermophysics, specifically as related to the study and application of the properties and mechanisms involved in thermal energy transfer and the study of environmental effects of such properties and mechanisms.

Ibrahim received the 2000 DeMichele Award of the Society for Experimental Mechanics. It recognizes exemplary service and support of promoting the science and educational aspects of modal analysis technology.

This article was posted on: February 23, 2001

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.