[ skip to content ]


The Old Dominion University Alumni Association will honor eight Virginia General Assembly members with its inaugural Leadership Award at a reception at 6 p.m., Wednesday, Feb. 7 at Old City Hall in Richmond.

The award recognizes alumni whose leadership, character, vision and drive best represent the ideals of Old Dominion University, according to Lauren Conner, past president of the alumni association and chair of the awards committee.

The eight Virginia House of Delegates receiving the award include: Kenneth C. Alexander, political science '90; John A. Cosgrove, electrical engineering and technology '85; Kenneth R. Plum, history '65; Harry R. Purkey, business administration and economics '68; Melanie Rapp, master's of education '06; Terrie L. Suit, political science '05; Roslyn Tyler, physical therapy '86; Thomas C. Wright, Jr., political science '70.

"As we sought to identify our inaugural recipients, we immediately turned to Richmond where eight of our own represent not only their respective constituencies, but also the pride of Old Dominion," Conner said. "These men and women, through their tireless efforts to enhance the lives of the citizens of the commonwealth, are stellar examples of alumni leadership in action."

This article was posted on: February 5, 2007

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.