[ skip to content ]


In recognition of the contributions of researchers at Old Dominion University, a $1,000 Research Achievement Award and Plaque are presented each spring to a tenured member of the ODU faculty who has exhibited consistent excellence in his/her research efforts. The award's purpose is to recognize the accomplishments of faculty who achieve national prominence for high-quality research and scholarship.

Nominations for the award, together with supporting documentation, should be sent to the Office of Research, 2035 Hughes Hall, by Tuesday, Feb. 15.

The nominating faculty member or administrator should write a short statement explaining why the researcher should receive the award and outline the significance of the nominee's research contributions. In addition to this statement, a CV should be submitted. Six copies of the nomination package should be included.

This year's award and plaque will be presented at Research Day, to be held at the Ted Constant Convocation Center on April 6.

All full-time tenured members of the faculty with at least 5 years' service at ODU are eligible for the award. Full career accomplishments will be considered when a nominee is judged but special evaluative emphasis will be placed upon research actually done while the individual was at this university.

The evaluation of nominees will be based primarily upon considerations of consistent research quality. The primary indicators of quality are peer scholar judgments which are evidenced by publications of articles in refereed journals, publications of books and monographs by nationally competitive publishing houses, awards and citations by professional associations, and positive reviews of funded research proposals. In addition, considerations will be given to non-professional acclaim for the outcome of research endeavors.

Particular emphasis will be placed on the consistency of the research record. However, simple quantitative measures, such as the number of articles published or the dollar value of grants and contracts generated, are not sufficient evidence of research quality.

Past Faculty Research Award Recipients:
2004 - Thomas F. Cash, Psychology
2003 - Wayne K. Talley, Economics
2002 - Ravindra Joshi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
2001 - John A. Doukas, Finance
2000 - Hani Elsayed-Ali, Electrical and Computer Engineering
1999 - Cynthia M. Jones, Biological Sciences
1998 - Anatoly V. Radyushkin, Physics
1997 - Chuh Mei, Aerospace Engineering
1996 - Eileen Hofmann, Oceanography
1995 - Robert Gable, Child Study/Special Education and John R. Holsinger, Biological Sciences
1994 - Kenneth G. Brown, Chemical Sciences
1993 - Daniel M. Dauer, Biological Sciences
1992 - Mark D. Havey, Physics and Karl H. Schoenbach, Electrical and Computer Engineering
1991 - Daniel N. Sonenshine, Biological Sciences
1990 - Surendra N. Tiwari, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
1989 - Govind S. Khandelwal, Physics
1988 - Raymond W. Alden, Jr., Biological Sciences
1987 - Alf J. Mapp, Jr., English
1986 - Earl A. Thornton, Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics
1985 - Lytton Musselman, Biological Sciences

This article was posted on: January 19, 2005

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.