[ skip to content ]


Old Dominion University's Board of Visitors (BOV) today appointed a search committee to find a successor to President Roseann Runte, who announced Jan. 7 that she has accepted the position of president at Carleton University in Ottawa, Canada, as of July 1.

The Presidential Search Committee, which will begin meeting immediately, ultimately will select a short list of candidates for the Board of Visitors to review. The committee includes current and former BOV members and representatives from faculty, staff and alumni.

According to Rector Marc Jacobson, the committee will engage the services of a national consulting firm to aid in the process of finding a new leader, but the final decision on a successor to Runte will be the responsibility of the Board of Visitors.

Committee members include:

*Kenneth E. Ampy '90, current Board of Visitors member and CEO of Astyra Corp.;

*Frank Batten Jr., current member and former rector of the Board of Visitors and CEO of Landmark Communications;

*Oktay Baysal, dean of the Batten College of Engineering and Technology;

*John R. Broderick, vice president for institutional advancement and admissions and chief of staff;

*Kendra M. Croshaw '00, vice rector of the Board of Visitors;

*Michele M. Darby, Eminent Scholar and University Professor of dental hygiene;

*James A. Hixon, current member and former rector of the Board of Visitors and executive vice president of law and corporate relations of Norfolk Southern Corp.;

*Marc Jacobson, rector of the Board of Visitors and retired Judge of the Norfolk Circuit Court;

*Vishnu Kamisetty, president of the Old Dominion University Indian Students Association;

*Brenda N. Lewis, assistant vice president for graduate studies;

*Ross A. Mugler '84 (M.P.A. '03), current Board of Visitors member and commissioner of the revenue for the city of Hampton;

*William Russell, former Board of Visitors member and deputy superintendent of schools for the city of Chesapeake;

*Anne B. Shumadine, former rector of the Board of Visitors and chairman of Signature Financial Management Inc.;

*Judy Smith, budget analyst and president of the Hourly and Classified Employees Association;

*G. Richard Whittecar, associate professor of ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences; and

*Shewling Moy Wong '87, president of the Old Dominion University Alumni Association and vice president of Wong Associates Inc.

Runte succeeded James V. Koch as Old Dominion's seventh president in July 2001. She came to Old Dominion having previously served as president of Victoria University, principal of Glendon College and president of l'Université Sainte-Anne, all in Canada. She is the first woman to hold ODU's top office.

This article was posted on: January 17, 2008

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.