[ skip to content ]


Nominations are being solicited by the Old Dominion University Office of Research for the 24th annual Faculty Research Achievement Award, which will be presented at the spring Research Expo convocation. The deadline for nominations is today.

Full-time, tenured faculty members who have been at ODU for at least five years are eligible. The winner gets a $1,000 prize and a plaque.

Nominees should have demonstrated consistent research accomplishment, with publications in refereed journals, publication of books or monographs by nationally competitive publishing houses, awards and citations by professional associations, and positive reviews of funded research proposals, according to the invitation for nominations.

The nominating faculty member or administrator must write a short statement summarizing the significance of the nominee's accomplishments, provide an outline of the accomplishments and provide the nominee's resume. Six copies of the nomination package must be submitted to Office of Research, 4111 Monarch Way.

The winner will be announced April 9 at the 2008 Research Expo, "Communities of Research: Discovery, Innovation and Entrepreneurship" at the Ted Constant Convocation Center.

Previous winners of the ODU award are:

Lytton Musselman, biological sciences
Earl A. Thornton, mechanical engineering and mechanics
Alf J. Mapp Jr., English
Raymond V. Alden, Jr., biological sciences
Govind S. Khandelwal, physics
Harold G. Marshall, biological sciences
Surendra N. Tiwari, mechanical engineering and mechanics
Daniel N. Sonenshine, biological sciences
Mark D. Havey, physics
Karl H. Schoenbach, electrical and computer engineering
Daniel M. Dauer, biological sciences
Kenneth G. Brown, chemical sciences
Robert Gable, child study/special education
John R. Holsinger, biological sciences
Eileen Hoffmann, oceanography
Chuh Mei, aerospace engineering
Anatoly V. Radyushkin, physics
Cynthia M. Jones, biological sciences
Hani Elsayed-Ali, electrical and computer engineering
John A. Doukas, finance
Ravindra Joshi, electrical and computer engineering
Wayne K. Talley, economics
Thomas F. Cash, psychology
Chester E. Grosch, ocean, earth and atmospheric sciences
Rocco Schiavilla, physics
Greg Cutter, chemical oceanography

This article was posted on: January 10, 2008

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.