[ skip to content ]


The Old Dominion University College of Business and Public Administration honored students, faculty and staff on April 20.

Numerous faculty members were recognized for their achievements. Award winners included: Shaomin Li, professor of marketing, Faculty Research Award; Sara Morris, associate professor of management, Faculty Teaching Award; Laurie Henry, associate professor of accounting, Faculty Advising Award; and David Selover, associate professor of economics, Faculty Service Award.

The Classified Staff Member of Year Award was presented to F. John Barker III, the college's technology manager.

Also at the event, 14 students were inducted into the Honor Society of Beta Gamma Sigma, an international honor society that recognizes the outstanding academic achievements of students enrolled in collegiate business and management programs. Inducted were graduate students Robert Bartala, John Bellay, Robin Brewer, Weslee Bruehl and Michael Vanderhoof; seniors Nancy Beyrodt, Natalija Harmon, Gordon Jones, Xie Ling, James Pritchard, Maureen Scott and Kensuke Yamamoto; and juniors Wendy Ross Archbell and Holly Bodner.

Nine students were inducted into the Honor Society of Pi Alpha Alpha, the national honor society that recognizes academic achievement in the field of public affairs and administration. Inducted were graduate students Jim Dunlap, Afton Austin, Matthew Dove, Julia Hillegass, Thomas Boross and Mark Solesky; and doctoral students Angela Cyrus, Samuel Adams and Mike Hawkins.

Graduating seniors in the business honors society who were recognized included: Amanda Laura Doherty, Natalia I. Gourova, Anshita Kumar, Kalin N. Locke, MaQuisha Y. Murrell and Steven Sherman Jr.

The following student awards were presented:
CBPA Outstanding Students for the Bagwell-Jones Prize - Amanda Doherty and Ashley Stewart
Wall Street Journal Award - Michael Loftus
Honors Program Outstanding Graduating Student Award - Amanda Doherty and Natalia Gourova
Outstanding Decision Sciences Student Award - Kalin Locke
Jack W. Nickson & Nathaniel Shechter Memorial Award for Excellence in Economics - Amanda Doherty
Outstanding Financial Management Student Award - Michael Loftus
Outstanding Insurance Student Award - James Vasherault
Outstanding Real Estate Student Award - Jasyn Sayre
William H. Crouch Chapter of the Information Systems and Project Management Professionals Outstanding Student - Chad Gerber
Outstanding Information Systems Student - Stephanie Ulik
Outstanding International Business Student - Natalia Gourova
Outstanding Management Student - Donna Mills
Outstanding Marketing Student - Emily Shephard
Outstanding M.A. Student in Economics - George Tripp Adams
Outstanding M.B.A. Student - Mounia Otarid
Outstanding Master's Student in Public Administration - Jennifer Sing
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Public Administration and Urban Policy - Samuel Adams
Wolfgang Pindur Award for outstanding achievement in the Master of Public Administration program - Amy McDowell
Military Leadership Sciences Outstanding Cadet - Cadet Emma C. Taylor
Military Leadership Sciences Cadet Leadership Award - Cadet Dwight G. Stalls
Institute of Management Accountants Outstanding Accounting Student - Melissa Novey
Association of Government Accountants Outstanding Government Auditing Student - Christopher OBrien
Tidewater Chapter of Institute of Internal Auditors Outstanding Auditing Student - Kelli Lyde
Tidewater Chapter of the Virginia Society of CPAs Outstanding Accounting Students - Ebony Harris and Mary Parker
Virginia Society of CPAs Outstanding Accounting Student - Ashley Stewart
Federation of Schools of Accountancy Outstanding Graduate Student Award - Phillip Bernhardt
Jack W. Kerr Jr. Outstanding Graduate Taxation Student Award - Henry Peterson
Dehority Accounting Alumni Scholarship - Stephanie Ulik
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Finance - Yingchou Lin
Outstanding Doctoral Student in Marketing - Altaf Merchant
Outstanding Maritime and Supply Chain Management Student - William Fediw
Propeller Club of the United States Port of Norfolk 2007 Scholarship - William Fediw
Propeller Club of the United States Port of Old Dominion University 2007 Scholarship - William Fediw
South Atlantic & Caribbean Ports Association Scholarship with matching award from Virginia Port Authority - William Fediw
Recognition of CBPA Alumni Award Recipient - Michael Loftus

This article was posted on: May 3, 2007

Old Dominion University
Office of University Relations

Room 100 Koch Hall Norfolk, Virginia 23529-0018
Telephone: 757-683-3114

Old Dominion University is an equal opportunity, affirmative action institution.