[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Old Dominion University
A to Z Index  |  Directories

University Events
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Graduate Program in International Studies (GPIS)
20th Anniversary Celebration

April 23, 2013, 7:30 p.m.
North Cafeteria - Webb University Center



Joseph S. Nye Jr.
Harvard University Distinguished Service Professor,
Harvard Kennedy School 

Joseph S. Nye Jr., is University Distinguished Service Professor and former dean of the Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University. He received his bachelor's degree summa cum laude from Princeton University in 1958, did postgraduate work at Oxford University on a Rhodes Scholarship and earned a Ph.D. in political science from Harvard, where he joined the faculty in 1964. In 2008, a poll of 2,700 international relations scholars listed him as the most influential scholar on American foreign policy, and a 2011 poll rated him the fourth-most influential scholar in international relations over the past 20 years. Foreign Policy rated him among the "top 100 Global Thinkers."

From 1977-79, Nye was a deputy undersecretary of state and chaired the National Security Council Group on Nonproliferation of Nuclear Weapons. In 1993-94 he chaired the National Intelligence Council, which prepares intelligence estimates for the president, and in 1994-95 served as assistant secretary of defense for international security affairs. He won Distinguished Service medals from all three agencies.

Nye has published 13 academic books, a novel and more than 200 articles in professional and policy journals. His most recent books include "Soft Power," "The Powers to Lead" and "The Future of Power," which The Economist called "rigorous and convincing." His next book, "Presidential Leadership and the Creation of the American Era," will be published in May 2013.

He is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the British Academy and the American Academy of Diplomacy, and an honorary fellow of Exeter College, Oxford. He is the recipient of Princeton University's Woodrow Wilson Award, the Charles Merriam Award from the American Political Science Association, France's Palmes Academiques and various honorary degrees.

Click here to RSVP to this event.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]