Old Dominion University
A to Z Index  |  Directories

Applied Research Center

Home About
Research Patents Publications Directory SURRF Core Resources Directions


Eastern Virginia Medical School


Dr. Karl H. Schoenbach

Eminent Scholar Emeritus and Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering, 

Frank Reidy Research Center for Bioelectrics
4211 Monarch Way, Ste.#300,
Norfolk, VA 23508

Tel.: (757) 683-2421

Email: kschoenb@odu.edu

KARL H. SCHOENBACHreceived the Diploma degree in physics and the Dr. rer. nat. degree in physics in 1966 and 1970, respectively, from the Technische Hochschule Darmstadt (THD), Germany. From 1970 to 1978, he was working at the THD in the areas of high pressure gas discharge physics and on the dense plasma focus. From 1979 to 1985, he held a faculty position at Texas Tech University, where he was involved in research on fast opening switches, especially electron-beam and laser controlled diffuse discharge opening switches. In 1985, he joined Old Dominion University in Norfolk, VA. He served as Director of the Frank Reidy Research Center for Bioelectrics from 2002 to 2008, and held an Endowed Chair, the Batten Chair in Bioelectric Engineering from 2005 until his retirement in 2010. He was active in research on photoconductive and electron-beam controlled switches until 1993, and has since concentrated his research efforts on high-pressure glow discharges, particularly microdischarges, on glow (streamer) discharges in liquids, and on environmental and medical applications of pulse power technology. He continues to be actively involved in bioelectrics research, particularly in research on bioelectric effects of intense subnanosecond pulses and high-power microwaves. He has chaired a number of workshops and conferences, among them the 1991 IEEE International Conference on Plasma Science, and the First International Symposium on “Nonthermal Medial/Biological Treatments Using Electromagnetic Fields and Ionized Gases” (ElectroMed99) in 1999. He was elected Fellow of IEEE in 1994 for “contributions to the research and development of very-high-power electronic devices”, and received the 2000 High Voltage Award sponsored by the Dielectric and Electrical Insulation Society of the IEEE, the Peter Haas Pulsed Power Award in 2007, and the Frank Reidy Bioelectrics Award in 2010. He has published over 400 papers in refereed journals and in conference proceedings and holds 15 patents. He has been an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Plasma Science from 1989 to 2007, guest editor of the IEEE Transactions on Electron-Devices (1990), the IEEE Transactions on Plasma Science (1999), the IEEE Transactions on Dielectrics and Electrical Insulation (2003 and 2009). He is co-editor of books on “Low Temperature Plasma Physics” (2001 and 2007 (2nd edition)), and on “Atmospheric Pressure Air Plasmas” (2004).